Life and Fate, by Vasily Grossman

Life and FateLife and Fate by Vasily Grossman

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

In a word, Epic.

View all my reviews

…instead of a means for strengthening a human community, “race, party, and state” become the end. “Nyet, nyet, nyet! The sole, true, and eternal objective of the struggle for life is a human being, his humble particularity, his right to this particularity.”

via The Russian Masterpiece Youve Never Heard of – By Leon Aron | Foreign Policy.

To get plausibly inside the past, we need to allow it to have been, as well as tragic, also hopeful, funny, preoccupied and ordinary.

via Life and Fate by Vasily Grossman | Books | The Guardian.

The zealots, bigots and creeps on both sides come across with equal clarity.

via “Life and Fate”: War, peace and love | The Economist.

When you were a child, you used to run to me for protection. Now, in moments of weakness, I want to hide my head on your knees; I want you to be strong and wise; I want you to protect and defend me.

via The Year in Listening: Vasily Grossman’s “Life and Fate” : The New Yorker.

“Yes, as well as this terrible Good…there is everyday human kindness”

via Life and Fate – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.

 

