The Sunday Obituary No. 4

As he passed a mound of corpses, Rabbi Schacter spied a flicker of movement. Drawing closer, he saw a small boy, Prisoner 17030, hiding in terror behind the mound.“I was afraid of him,” the child would recall long afterward in an interview with The New York Times. “I knew all the uniforms of SS and Gestapo and Wehrmacht, and all of a sudden, a new kind of uniform. I thought, ‘A new kind of enemy.’ ”With tears streaming down his face, Rabbi Schacter picked the boy up. “What’s your name, my child?” he asked in Yiddish.“Lulek,” the child replied.“How old are you?” the rabbi asked.“What difference does it make?” Lulek, who was 7, said. “I’m older than you, anyway.”“Why do you think you’re older?” Rabbi Schacter asked, smiling.“Because you cry and laugh like a child,” Lulek replied. “I haven’t laughed in a long time, and I don’t even cry anymore. So which one of us is older?”Rabbi Schacter discovered nearly a thousand orphaned children in Buchenwald.

via Rabbi Herschel Schacter, Who Carried Word of Freedom to Buchenwald, Dies at 95 – NYTimes.com.

 

