Steinbrenner on Steinbrenner

It was never easy being the son of George Steinbrenner, despite the obvious material benefits. Hal Steinbrenner has spent half his life working for the Yankees, a sometimes hazardous and often stressful occupation for anyone working for his father, but even more so for him. “They took their share enough that they thought I didn’t get any worse,” Steinbrenner said of his colleagues. “But I did. The one thing I joke about is that we could have a horrible, horrible day at work here with him, but the one thing they don’t have to deal with is he doesn’t show up at their house to play with their kids that night. We would get home and I’d be like, ‘I love him to death and my kids love him, but not tonight.’ It’s definitely different what I went through than what they did.”

via If Anyone Knows Storm Clouds, It’s Hal Steinbrenner – NYTimes.com.

 

