In Other News: ‘Death by Sinkhole’

John [7:36 PM]:
EVASTOPOL, March 12 (RIA Novosti) – Three of the Ukrainian navy’s “killer” dolphins that swam away from their handlers during training exercises probably left to look for mates, an expert said on Tuesday.

Samantha [7:37 PM]:
I realize this isn’t the takeaway here, but killer dolphins?

John [7:37 PM]:
I guess drones weren’t evil enough.

Samantha [7:38 PM]:
In other news, and a little late, I would like to add that death by sinkhole is another way I do NOT want to go.

John [7:39 PM]:
Sinkhole? I think I heard something about that. But a new one, right? Did it open up under Paul Ryan?

Samantha [7:40 PM]:
Ha! Dare to dream. Well, there was the one in Florida, but it’s Florida … then one on a golf course in Illinois!! But the golfer was OK.

Mihal said he was completely surprised when the ground gave way beneath him. “It didn’t look unstable,” he said. “And then I was gone. I was just freefalling. It felt like forever, but it was just a second or two, and I didn’t know what I was going to hit. And all I saw was darkness.”

via Golfer OK after sinkhole scare on Illinois course – ESPN.

John [7:40 PM]:
Ye gods. There was a thing on the wires about one in D.C., but it turned out to be kind of a hoax. Hole was only three feet deep.

…the districts Alert DC warned of “a large sinkhole” that was “described as 25 feet deep and expanding from east to west.” City crews then closed a street. But a D.C. transportation official later told the Washington City Paper that the hole was only 3 to 4 feet deep…

via D.C. sinkhole less than meets the hype.

Samantha [7:42 PM]:
Unless you are a toddler, that hardly seems a problem.

John [7:43 PM]:
Well. You aren’t the tallest lady on the runway. I’d be concerned if I heard about a three-foot sinkhole and then was unable to raise you by text.

Samantha [7:44 PM]:
Ha! All fair points.

John [7:44 PM]:
Tell you what. From now on. I am carrying three feet of rope with me. Everywhere. So I can yank you out of any trouble.

Samantha [7:45 PM]:
What would I do without you.

John [7:45 PM]:
For one thing, you’d spend a long time in that hole.

Samantha [7:46 PM]:
Isn’t that the truth.

