Look! Up in the Air!

If it is clear enough, you may be able to see a meteor shower on Tuesday night.

via Quadrantid Meteor Shower 2013 Peak: When to Watch – Park Slope, NY Patch.

On Fri, Jan 4, 2013 at 4:57 PM, I wrote:

Regarding your Quadrantid meteor article of Jan. 2, where exactly in Park Slope would I be able to see that?

'Only' 14 Million Miles Away (NASA, Hartley 2,...

(Photo credit: NASA)

Some time later, Todd wrote:

Subject: Re: Patch – Quadrantid Meteor Shower 2013 Peak: When to Watch
John: The best way to see it is to find the darkest place possible. That prevents the “light pollution” from obscuring the view. Happy showering!

A little while later, I wrote back:

I apologize. You mistook my good-natured cheek for a serious inquiry.

I observe that Park Slope is snug in the middle of the largest city in the United States. On most nights, only one or two stars are visible. I have never heard of anyone’s attempting to view a meteor shower in Brooklyn, but I am sure it would be futile. The best we can hope for, nocturnal astronomical event-wise, are lunar eclipses.

Anyway, I would have let it pass, but I noticed that your article says it was published Wednesday, which appears to be the day after your recommended viewing time. It would lend credence to your Web site if you would consider some of these details the next time.

Signed,
A reader

Thanks, Park Slope Patch.

