‘Here Is an Easy One for You’

[12:38 PM] Bob: …f(x)= y, for any x….any x….ya still with me

[12:41 PM] Me: f(x) = y?

[12:44 PM] Bob: …oh boy….allrighty then….1 +1 is….

[12:44 PM] Me: 2

[12:45 PM] Bob: ….yes….lets take a break…you earned it….

[12:45 PM] Me: And this y business?

[12:54 PM] Bob: Subject: Ooo wait …word problem…so I ordered some parts from a company in Italy….th

[12:55 PM] Me: Is this what y equals?

[12:59 PM] Bob: …with regards to the story problem I am to call [deleted]…asap…and discover if the validation run did in fact involve [deleted]….and to establish corrective actions …with aschedule…that reduces the potential in the future of such a travisty….I have made mention of the time difference…but have been instructed to wake …whom ever up to get to job done by..5:00 pm Central…if I can’t do it they will find somebody who can.

[1:01 PM] Me: Fun. So the Italians won’t answer cuz it’s happy hour, and the Australians cuz they’re already passed out drunk. Try not to get fired

[2:53 PM] Bob: …don’t you have the Ti-85 from college…..or the BA II….I’ll look around and see what I got.

[2:53 PM] Bob: …in the mean time try…. calculatorsoup.com…isn’t there a formula in your book. do you have acces to a book of logs…

[2:57 PM] Me: Logs?

[2:57 PM] Bob: …e…

[2:58 PM] Me: Loge?

[3:00 PM] Bob: ….logrhythm…eh…

[3:01 PM] Me: What?! Shouldn’t you have learned to spell that, at least?

[3:03 PM] Bob: …what for…my calculator has ….e…and log….

[3:38 PM] Bob: …hey …da…the answer is …$2.00…one powerball ticket….phew…sorry it took me so long to recognize that it was a trick question….

[1:57 PM] Me: What do I get out this relationship, other than a lot of double talk and poorly shot videos??

[3:15 PM] Bob: …here is a easy one for you … I had to turn in [deleted] this morning for justification of a [deleted] …so this is a real example…case study…from a fortune 500 company….so, using NPV…I would as the approver of the project estimate future cash flows that we might generate..then discount them…or put them in one pile with a present day value…¬øeh?….I would then then add this amount to the expected expenditures…drains on the pile…and so my proposed drain on the company of $26000 represents approx. 0.0001067 of the NVP…even with out us putting something in a box…so then I can expect approval ..based on financial feasibility and business necessity…as it brings us into compliance ….right?

[3:19 PM] Me: Can’t you explain it better? More smartly?

[3:39 PM] Bob: ..smartly…¬ø?…well you got your goWz intoes and you go ootztoes…what you got a fig’r..is if your cominz toes…is gonna be anuff for which ever it is ya need a guzouttoes…if it ain’t enough then the money ya thought was gonna be enough ain’t gonna git ya …and you gotta get mor goes intoes if ya have have…what ever it was…that ya was so concerned of …when ya …started looking for …

[3:40 PM] Me: OK. Now. Like an Eskimo

[6:35 PM] Bob: …nukaluk malukaluk…..kabloona?

[10:26 PM] Me: Nice. Now to learn finance I have to be racist?

