‘Phineas Redux’

Phineas ReduxPhineas Redux by Anthony Trollope

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Engrossing.

The interesting thing about this book is that it is, in fact, so interesting even though the things that actually happen can be described, without fear of being condemned for irony, as boring. Some of the most spellbinding chapters, to me, anyway, recounted scenes in which nothing actually happened. Or in which what did happen was confoundingly dull. And yet I would desperately want to get to the end of chapters before my train rattled screechingly into my stop.

“Redux” is part of a series, and so may not be the best place to start getting your Trollope on. But the series itself is not even about this book’s title character, and the Trollope includes copious explanatory asides to help you keep up with what is, after all, a complicated plot. In any event, recommended.

View all my reviews

