‘American Lion’

American Lion: Andrew Jackson in the White HouseAmerican Lion: Andrew Jackson in the White House by Jon Meacham

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

More a discussion than a history, the author tries (and succeeds) to describe and explain the personalities of Jackson’s White House. It can’t replace the more conventional biographies, but is a compelling and indispensable complement.

Recommended, over all, though with the caveat that the author is obviously an admirer. If you are seeking a more unvarnished appraisal, well, I don’t know what to tell you.

My inescapable conclusion is that I enjoyed this book immensely, and now have a thorough appreciation for Mr. Jackson’s place in history. However, and as much as his fits brought a smile to my face, I cannot help but think that he was, more aptly, just a big jerk.

View all my reviews

