‘Moroccan Merguez Ragout with Poached Eggs’

We ate this for lunch and agreed it was the perfect meal for the middle of the day — or the beginning of the day, or the end of the day.

via Moroccan Merguez Ragout with Poached Eggs recipe from food52.

Click through for the recipe. It is brilliant, simple and fast. All it is, is a tomato sauce, basically, that you poach eggs in. The flavor is apparently all Moroccan, namely a curry-like blend of cooked-in spices known as ras el hanout and a just-before-serving dollop of a salsa-like condiment known as harissa. Neither of which is as expensive or as hard to find as I thought they would be.

My version is not quite the same, though. For one thing, my eggs ended up being more sunny-side-up than poached, though that seems unimportant now. As it did after I distractedly cracked the eggs, finishing my second glass of wine with a self-satisfied slug.

For another, I used fake meat instead of sausage. Though, now, I think that chickpeas would be superior, even, to the Merguez sausage called for in the recipe. Certainly, there has to be a there there, but chickpeas could be it.

